Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Programme Structure

The MBL-FU is a two-term programme. It comprises 8 modules and a master thesis period. Central constituents of each module are the in-class lectures, seminars and tutorials that take place full-time on Fridays and Saturdays (occasionally also on Thursdays) at the Department of Law. As part of our E-learning concept, different online study and work designs realized via the programme's internet platform complement and enhance the on-site lectures. 

The postgraduate master programme "International and European Business, Competition and Regulatory Law" is divided into two sections. The first section covers the first term of studies (October to March) and deals with the legal and economic foundations of business, competition and regulatory law. Furthermore, students are taught how to draft and implement a contract. During the second term (April to September), the second part of studies addresses competition and regulatory law only. In the module "Regulatory Law", students specialize either in energy or telecommunication law.

The programme combines several different learning concepts in order to promote understanding and aid student comprehension and learning. We call this blended learning, which combines elements of in-class lectures, student excercises, tutorials, and online work, bot excercises and discussions. This allows our students to apply the concepts learned in a meaningful way and to promote exchange of ideas among the students.


Module 1

European and International Business and Contract Law (5 credit points)

Module 2

Introduction to the Economic Fundamentals of Competition and Regulatory Law (10 credit points)

Module 3

 European Competition Law (10 credit points)

Module 4

European and International Business and Trade Law (5 credit points)

Module 5

Advanced European and International Business and Competition Law (5 credit points)

Module 6

Fundamentals of Regulatory Law  - Infrastructure Sectors and the Digital Economy (5 credit points)

Module 7

Regulatory Law - Telecommunication Law (Compulsory Elective, 5 credit points)*

Module 8

Regulatory Law - Energy Law (Compulsory Elective, 5 credit points)*
Master Thesis (15 credit points)

 * Students choose between modules 7 and 8 depending on their preferred thematic focus. 5 credit points are only granted for one of the modules.